top of page

CUL-DE-SAC & HAPPY NEW BLOG

Hello,

I've decided I'll be keeping a blog on here, to drive people to the website, after FaceBook has begun limiting our affair, and to keep everybody updated. Please consider the mailing list dead. But this will allow me more scope to ramble, share things and update more regularly. Thank you to all who've downloaded my EP "CUL-DE-SAC" so far, please do, tell your friends. For all the private messages I receive, the non private ones, this is for you. To those I met through The Thieves who have gone beyond a silent listener, there's a lot more to come.

If you click the picture on the left, it opens bandcamp. It's also available on iTunes, Spotify, GooglePlay and Amazon.

Want some info on the EP? Probably not, but I'm always aware of being a little guarded and therefore not such a "human" person. So here it goes, the very dull synopsis.

I moved to Leeds in March and moved into a house on my own for the first time, excluding mammoth 3 month mind bending recording sessions in the large empty houses of friends. Why Leeds? Because there's a roots music scene that I feel very lucky to have been accepted into so quickly. Also, to join a another roots act Leeds City Stompers, and between both projects, I'm now doing this for my living.

Thankfully, the house has songs in it, and quickly I started penning new songs. I turned the top floor of my house into a VERY makeshift studio and jumped into tracking, blindly. Knowing nothing, but there would be nothing on here that wasn't a natural sound, I was firm on that, and that I wanted to keep it fairly skeletal.

At this time I was listening to Jelly Roll Morton, Lead Belly and The Washboard Rhythm Kings almost exclusively. It wasn't easy to record in a room designed so hideously inappropriately for the task, hence some of the strange reflections and harmonics you can hear.

It's almost may - here are some live dates for the month (more to be added).

S

Speak Soon

C


bottom of page